top of page

Shea Moisture Outrage

Hey ya'll! I feel like it has been forever but I am definitely going to be back on it. I wanted to talk about the Shea Moisture ad and the controversy around it.

Shea Moisture Ad

I actually was pretty late about the ad. I first saw it on instagram and they were talking about the ad. I was really confused so I clicked on the hashtag. Then it brought up videos with people complaining about the ad in their caption. So I took it upon myself to actually look up and watch the ad so I could understand what the outrage was about.

The ad started off with a black girl talking about her hair journey. Then a white redhead girl came on talking about her hair and two more white girls came on after that. The commercial ended with black girls and men in this square type situation but they had about 5 seconds in the ad.

As I was watching the commercial, I begin to understand the outrage. Black women are upset because Shea Moisture kind of forgotten about their base in the ad. Although I understand the outrage and I was a little disappointed, the brand is trying to expand to different hair textures.

Most people's argument was that straight european hair textures does not need any more products dedicated to them. Everything on the shelf is dedicated to them. Even with this argument, Shea Moisture is still trying to expand their brand. Shea Moisture did send out an apology for the video and the ad was taken down.

Shea Moisture Products

Now, I do think they could have done it in a better way. Maybe started a new line or something but that ad wasn't the best example. But I think you still have to keep in mind that they are a business. If you really did not like the ad then just don't buy their products any more.

What do you guys think about the ad? Do you even care? Let me know in the comments.

Here is the video!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Snapchat Social Icon
  • Tumblr Social Icon
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
Be sure to follow me on all my social media  platforms!

 

bottom of page