top of page

Supporting Black

My sister and I was up late one night, I was watching some random social issues videos about supporting black businesses. I had told her that I want to bank black when I get some money. Then she asked "why?". I had told her because that's how you bring up the black community by supporting black businesses. She simply didn't get it which was fine. I am telling this story because I think that it is important that black people support each other in whatever we do. We have to learn to support each other and lift each other up. We are so use to being separated and competing that it has affected the way we think of each other.

These black creators on YouTube posted this video called 'dear black people'. These creators were talking about how most black people don't support them in real life. Some of their supporter's don't even come up and hug them. Now of course, not all of them do this but they were saying all of their black supporters but it was enough of them to notice. They also talked about how in black community we are so use to being in competition with each other that its hard for us to support each other. But we are definitely getting better!

From my point of view, the black community has always struggled with the idea os supporting your own. We have been taught that we are good enough to have own businesses or to be even living in America. Black Americans has struggled with being okay about who we are as a people. I do think we are getting better but there is some things we still need to work on. I think the first step is to learn how to love yourself because if you don't love yourself then you won't be able to love someone else. The other thing is that we have to learn to love each other. Our culture is always being used but we never seem to really benefit from our own culutre that we create but thats another post for later. As long as we all try to support each other, then we will be just fine.

Here is the video if you to check it out!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Snapchat Social Icon
  • Tumblr Social Icon
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
Be sure to follow me on all my social media  platforms!

 

bottom of page