top of page

Misleading Truths of being Natural!

I remember when I first starting going natural, I was very confused on how to take care of natural hair because I only knew how to take care of relaxed hair. I started my search with Youtube. I try to find girls with similar hair textures to mines. Although it seemed that most girls were using a lot of the same products and so I thought I had to use those products. Which by the way, is not the case for every girl. Here some misleading natural truths that do not apply to everyone.

1) Coconut Oil is NOT for everyone's scalp! In the natural hair community, you will see that many girls promote coconut oil for your hair. Although coconut oil does work on some people's hair, it may not work on your hair. Find the oil that best works for your hair. Whether that is olive oil, jojoba oil, or any type of oil; find the oil that works best for you.

2) You can still use Sulfate! Yes sulfate can and probably is bad for your hair but being natural is all about what works best for your hair. So if you use products that have sulfate in it, fine.

3) Shampooing is okay! I remember during my natural hair journey, a lot of girls on youtube said do not shampoo your hair every wash day. Which is fine and I believe that but if you feel like the only way for your hair to be clean is shampooing every wash day then do it. I think natural hair girls have made shampooing sound scary but it's really not.

The main thing I find myself repeating is natural hair is what works best for your hair. Yes, you can still look up what other people may say but it all comes back to the question "is this the best thing for my hair?"

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Snapchat Social Icon
  • Tumblr Social Icon
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
Be sure to follow me on all my social media  platforms!

 

bottom of page